Cart | Account

New Releases
New Fiction
New Non-Fiction
Ben McNally

Notes from a Book Addict

As both a bookseller and a book buff, Ben McNally can hardly keep quiet about the books he loves. Don't miss Ben's reading recommendations, as he shares his new favourite read.
What are Canadians reading right now? Browse national bestseller lists to find out about books that are selling.

Books in the news
Ray Bradbury

It is with great sorrow that we have learned that Ray Bradbury, recipient of the 2000 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters , the 2004 National Medal of Arts, and the 2007 Pulitzer Prize Special Citation, died on June 5, 2012, at the age of 91 after a long illness.

In a career spanning more than seventy years, Ray Bradbury has inspired generations of readers. A prolific author of hundreds of short stories and close to fifty books, his groundbreaking works include Fahrenheit 451, The Martian Chronicles, The Illustrated Man, Dandelion Wine, and Something Wicked This Way Comes.

Bradbury was one of the most celebrated writers of our time, and he will be deeply missed.

The Sense of an Ending

Congratulations to Bruce Philps, winner of the 2012 National Business Book Award for Consumer Republic!

"Consumer Republic is a balanced, intelligent, sophisticated and timely message for a world addicted to constant consumption," says Roger Martin, National Business Book Award jury chairman, and Dean, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto. "At the same time a serious warning and an optimistic prod, the book is a worthy winner of this year's award."

The National Business Book Award winner for 2011 was Ezra Levant for his book Ethical Oil: The Case for Canada's Oil Sands.

Congratulations to Tim Wynne-Jones and James Bartleman for being appointed to the Order of Canada. The Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to community and service to the nation.

Toronto – April 24, 2012 – Canadian Booksellers Association (CBA) today announced that the industry’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to Canadian author Margaret Atwood Canadian Author. CBA’s Lifetime Achievement Award is given in recognition of Ms. Atwood’s outstanding and longstanding contribution to the book industry. This award, which is bestowed at the discretion of CBA Board of Directors, allows booksellers and other industry stakeholders to explicitly recognize an author’s cultural impact on Canadian literary culture. Past recipients include Timothy Findley, Carol Shields, Pierre Berton, Charles Burchell and Stephen King.

Click here for more information