Cart | Account

Who's Sorry Now?
Enlarge View

Who's Sorry Now?

Written by Howard JacobsonHoward Jacobson Author Alert
Category: Fiction
Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages
Publisher: Vintage Books
ISBN: 978-0-09-943737-6 (0-09-943737-6)

Pub Date: April 7, 2003
Price: $18.95

About this Book

From the author of The Mighty Walzer, winner of the Everyman Wodehouse Award, for comic writing.

Marvin Kreitman, the luggage baron of South London, lives for women. At present he loves four -- his mother, his wife Hazel, and his two daughters -- and is in love with five more. Charlie Merriweather, on the other hand, loves just the one woman, his wife of twenty years. Once a week the two friends meet for a Chinese lunch in Soho, contriving never quite to have the conversation they would like to have. Until today, that is. What follows shows Howard Jacobson in majestic form -- unnervingly truthful, poignant, and very, very funny.

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page

NOMINEE 2002 - Man Booker Prize

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
Review Quotes

“Jacobson’s humour is unashamedly savage and his jokes as sharp as a switch-blade…comic vitriol worthy of Evelyn Waugh.” -- Sunday Express

“There are few novelists today who can imbue the trifles of life with such poetry.” -- Independent

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
About this Author

Howard Jacobson was born in Manchester in 1942 and grew up in a poor, Jewish area of the city. He was educated at Cambridge University and shortly after graduating he left England and travelled to Australia where he lectured at the University of Sydney for three years. On returning to England, Howard took a post at Selwyn College, Cambridge. During the 1970s he taught English at Wolverhampton Polytechnic in the West Midlands, an experience which provided the material for his first novel, Coming From Behind (1983). Subsequent novels include Peeping Tom (1984), a comedy of sexual jealousy satirising literary biography; The Very Model of a Man (1992), a re-working of the Cain and Abel myth; No More Mister Nice Guy (1998), the story of television critic Frank Ritz's mid-life crisis; and The Mighty Walzer (1999), set in the Jewish community in Manchester during the 1950s, which won the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for comic writing and the Jewish Quarterly Literary Prize for Fiction in 2000.

Howard Jacobson's latest novel, Who's Sorry Now, was published in 2002 and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page

book cover

Upgrade to the Flash 9 viewer for enhanced content, including the ability to browse & search through your favorite titles.
Click here to learn more!

Click here for more information