Cart | Account

About the Author


 
Author Spotlight

J.D. McClatchy


J. D. McClatchy is the author of seven previous collections of poetry and of three collections of prose. He has edited numerous other books, including The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry, and has written a number of opera libretti that have been performed at the Metropolitan Opera, Covent Garden, La Scala, and elsewhere. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, where he served as president from 2009 to 2012. McClatchy teaches at Yale University and is editor of The Yale Review.

J.D. McClatchy
Enlarge View
Photo © 2014 Stone Roberts
Author Alert Sign Up

Random House will keep you up to date on the works of J.D. McClatchy! Enter your email address below to enroll. Privacy Policy.


Author Bookshelf
Sort Results By:
On-sale date Title Format Price

book cover
Plundered Hearts
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Hardcover | 288 pages | Knopf | Poetry - Single Author - American; Poetry - Subjects & Themes - Love; Literary Collections - American
978-0-385-35151-5 (0-385-35151-8)

March 25, 2014 | $33.00

Add this item to your cart

Plundered Hearts
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780385351515
Our Price: $33.00
   Quantity: 1 


At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden...

Also available as an eBook.

book cover
Plundered Hearts
Written by J.D. McClatchy

eBook | 288 pages | Knopf | Poetry - Single Author - American; Poetry - Subjects & Themes - Love; Literary Collections - American
978-0-385-35152-2 (0-385-35152-6)

March 25, 2014 | $16.99

Buy this eBook

Plundered Hearts
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Format: eBook
ISBN: 9780385351522
Our Price: $16.99


At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden...

Also available as a hardcover.

book cover
The Changing Light at Sandover
Written by James Merrill
Edited by J.D. McClatchy and Stephen Yenser

Trade Paperback | 640 pages | Knopf | Poetry - Single Author - American; Poetry - Epic; Literary Collections - American
978-0-375-71174-9 (0-375-71174-0)

August 2, 2011 | $35.00

Add this item to your cart

The Changing Light at Sandover
Written by James Merrill, Edited by J.D. McClatchy and Stephen Yenser

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780375711749
Our Price: $35.00
   Quantity: 1 


A welcome return to paperback: James Merrill’s most famous and celebrated work.


book cover
Mercury Dressing
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Trade Paperback | 112 pages | Knopf | Poetry - Single Author - American
978-0-375-71178-7 (0-375-71178-3)

May 17, 2011 | $20.00

Add this item to your cart

Mercury Dressing
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780375711787
Our Price: $20.00
   Quantity: 1 


This beautiful collection from J. D. McClatchy holds up a mirror to the soul, considering heroic and human figures in poems that “balance mandarin wit with enormous learning, a fully twenty-first-century sensibility and a deft use of the demotic” (Bookpage).


book cover
Selected Poems
Written by Anthony Hecht
Edited by J.D. McClatchy

Trade Paperback | 288 pages | Knopf | Poetry - Single Author - American; Literary Collections - American
978-0-375-71198-5 (0-375-71198-8)

March 22, 2011 | $25.00

Add this item to your cart

Selected Poems
Written by Anthony Hecht, Edited by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780375711985
Our Price: $25.00
   Quantity: 1 


Alongside Wallace Stevens, James Merrill, and other pillars of twentieth-century poetry, Anthony Hecht joins the Borzoi Poetry series.

Hecht, whose writing rings with the cadences of the King James Bible, and who, as an infantryman at the end of World War II, participated in the liberation of the concentration camps, lived and...

Also available as an eBook.

book cover
Selected Poems
Written by Anthony Hecht
Edited by J.D. McClatchy

eBook | 288 pages | Knopf | Poetry - Single Author - American; Literary Collections - American
978-0-307-59897-4 (0-307-59897-7)

March 22, 2011 | $17.99

Buy this eBook

Selected Poems
Written by Anthony Hecht, Edited by J.D. McClatchy

Format: eBook
ISBN: 9780307598974
Our Price: $17.99


Alongside Wallace Stevens, James Merrill, and other pillars of twentieth-century poetry, Anthony Hecht joins the Borzoi Poetry series.

Hecht, whose writing rings with the cadences of the King James Bible, and who, as an infantryman at the end of World War II, participated in the liberation of the concentration camps, lived and...

Also available as a trade paperback.

book cover
Animal Poems

Hardcover | pages | Everyman's Library | Poetry - Anthologies (multiple authors)
978-0-307-70086-5 (0-307-70086-0)

December 21, 2010 | $66.39

Add this item to your cart

Animal Poems
Edited by Carmela Ciuraru, Emily Fragos and J.D. McClatchy

Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780307700865
Our Price: $66.39
   Quantity: 1 


A must-have collection for any animal lover. These delightful volumes from the Everyman’s Library Pocket Poets series contain rich and assorted cadences from poets across the centuries. With colorful cloth sewn bindings, elegant gold stamped covers, and silk ribbon markers, these books are essentials for any home library.

Titles included:
Doggerel, edited by...


book cover
The Four Seasons
Edited by J.D. McClatchy
Introduction by J.D. McClatchy

Hardcover | 256 pages | Everyman's Library | Poetry - Anthologies (multiple authors)
978-0-307-26834-1 (0-307-26834-9)

June 3, 2008 | $17.95

Add this item to your cart

The Four Seasons
Edited by J.D. McClatchy, Introduction by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780307268341
Our Price: $17.95
   Quantity: 1 


For the poet, even the most minute details of the natural world are starting points for flights of the imagination, and the pages of this collection celebrating the four seasons are brimming with an extraordinary range of observation and imagery. 

Here are poets past and present, from Chaucer, Shakespeare, and Wordsworth...


book cover
Hazmat
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Trade Paperback | 96 pages | Knopf | Poetry
978-0-375-70991-3 (0-375-70991-6)

April 6, 2004 | $23.00

Add this item to your cart

Hazmat
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780375709913
Our Price: $23.00
   Quantity: 1 


HAZMAT, meaning “hazardous material,” is an abbreviation familiar from signs at the entrances to long dark tunnels or on the sides of suspicious containers. Here, in a series of stunning poems, J. D. McClatchy examines the first hazmat we all encounter: our own bodies. The virtuosic “Tattoos” meditates on why we...


book cover
The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Trade Paperback | 656 pages | Vintage | Poetry - Anthologies (multiple authors)
978-1-4000-3093-4 (1-4000-3093-5)

April 8, 2003 | $22.50

Add this item to your cart

The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9781400030934
Our Price: $22.50
   Quantity: 1 


Dazzling in its range, exhilarating in its immediacy and grace, this collection gathers together, from every region of the country and from the past forty years, the poems that continue to shape our imaginations. From Robert Lowell and Elizabeth Bishop, John Ashbery and Adrienne Rich, to Robert Haas and Louise Gluck...


book cover
Ten Commandments
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Trade Paperback | 120 pages | Knopf | Poetry - Single Author - American
978-0-375-70134-4 (0-375-70134-6)

December 21, 1999 | $22.50

Add this item to your cart

Ten Commandments
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780375701344
Our Price: $22.50
   Quantity: 1 


Ten Commandments is a book-length sequence of poems that plot the rules we were raised on, rules we forget but can't evade. Here is the whole underworld of desire, its tasks and perversions. Here are the iron laws and the way the heart is shaped by them, even as it prefers...


book cover
Christmas Poems

Hardcover | 256 pages | Everyman's Library | Poetry - Anthologies (multiple authors)
978-0-375-40789-5 (0-375-40789-8)

October 26, 1999 | $16.99

Add this item to your cart

Christmas Poems
Edited by John Hollander and J.D. McClatchy

Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780375407895
Our Price: $16.99
   Quantity: 1 


Christmas is both a holiday and a holy day, and from the start it has been associated with poetry, from the song of the seraphim above the manger to the cherished carols around the punch bowl. This garland of Christmas poems contains not only the ones you would insist on finding...


book cover
The Vintage Book of Contemporary World Poetry
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Trade Paperback | 688 pages | Vintage | Poetry - Anthologies (multiple authors)
978-0-679-74115-2 (0-679-74115-1)

June 25, 1996 | $22.00

Add this item to your cart

The Vintage Book of Contemporary World Poetry
Written by J.D. McClatchy

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780679741152
Our Price: $22.00
   Quantity: 1 


This groundbreaking volume may well be the poetry anthology for the global village. As selected by J.D. McClatchy, this collection includes masterpieces from four continents and more than two dozen languages in translations by such distinguished poets as Elizabeth Bishop, W.S. Merwin, Ted Hughes, and Seamus Heaney. Among the countries and...


              
              



Click here for more information